• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 134 other followers

Captions in Netflix “Watch Instantly” Movies

I’m so used to using captions on my TV that I get very frustrated when streaming a movie or TV show from Netflix.  So far, I have found none with subtitles or captions, although Netflix claims in their Blog that “more than 80% of the hours streamed in the US were of content with captions or subtitles available.”

According to a recent article in the San Francisco Chronicle. “Netflix may have to provide closed captions online,” a judge has ruled that federal disability laws cover businesses that serve their customers online.  Netflix may appeal the ruling, but it is a step in the right direction.

Maybe I just don’t know how to turn on the subtitles, as Netflix does have a long list of movies with subtitles.  Hmmm. I just went to my TV to try it out and didn’t see a way to turn on the subtitles!  The movie just started, with no menu or options.  Can anyone give me some tips?  Thanks!!

7 Responses

  1. What device do you watch Netflix on? My Apple TV and Wii both have a button to change various settings of the move, which includes captions for those movies with captions. Though the captions in Netflix look more look subtitles.

    • It’s a Vizio Model E472VL. I know how to use the remote to turn on the captions for the TV, but that doesn’t work for the movies. Hope you can help me! Thanks for writing!
      Marilyn

  2. Netflix has it’s own caption decoder and does not use the caption decoder from the TV. (someday maybe it will get there)
    I did some research and found that the Netflix app on Vizio TV’s does not have the subtitle/caption option. You could use a device called an Apple TV

    http://store.apple.com/us/browse/home/shop_ipod/family/apple_tv

    It’s available for $99 online, Apple retail stores, Best Buy and probably a bunch of other places. If you’re only using it for Netflix, that might be too much to pay. But if you want other features it has, like playing iTunes movies, streaming from iTunes on a Mac or PC or streaming video from an iPhone or iPad, then it is probably worth it. I love my Apple TV for watching iPad content.
    If you have a PS3 or a Wii, they also support the caption option so you could use those to watch netflix movies with captions. Here’s a link that shows all of the devices that support Netflix subtitles

    http://www2.netflix.com/Help?action=2&jsEnabled=false&faqtrkid=5&p_faqid=4462&lnkctr=yas_faq&p_search_text=subtitles

    It would probably also be worth contacting Vizio to see if they could update their Netflix app to support the subtitles option.

    I have both a Wii, and an Apple TV that I watch Netflix movies on so let me know if you have questions about either of those. Both work great.

    • Thank you so much! This is really helpful! I think it would be worth it to get the Apple TV…but then again, I’ve always wanted a Wii. Good excuse to get one! I really appreciate your info. Thanks!

  3. I am watching a Bollywood movie from Netflix on Apple TV and there wasn’t any subtitles. Can anyone please help?

  4. [...] getting closed captioning with Netflix Watch Instantly movies (or rather NOT getting captioning)  (Click here to see previous post.)  and “Tim” gave me some suggestions including recommending buying Apple TV (Thank [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

