• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 228 other followers

Hearing Loops are in the News…..Again!

Nice article in the AARP Blog about hearing loops:
The Hearing Loop – It Could Transform Your Hearing Aids

So glad the word is finally getting out about loops!  Perfect timing for me and my business, Hear Gear.  I’ve paired up with an experienced installer and we are ready to roll!

While you are waiting for your favorite theater or place of  worship to get “looped” – be sure you are ready.  Do you have t-coils in your hearing aids?  Do you know how to turn them on?  That’s what you will need to take advantage of a hearing loop.  Once you have t-coils, you can get an inductive neckloop.  I don’t think most people understand the usefulness of an inductive neckloop, so I will share an example.

I went to the theater last weekend and asked for an assisted listening device.  They handed me the typical “under-the-chin” infrared device.  I looked at the rather yellowed, hard, plastic earpieces.  Hmmm.  Don’t really want to put those in my ears.  Also, don’t think they would fit on top of my hearing aids.   BUT, then I noticed a headphone/neckloop jack!  Great!  I turned on my t-coils, inserted my inductive neckloop into the headphone jack, and I could hear loud and clear!

An inductive neckloop can be used in so many situations:  computer, MP3 player, land line, cell phone, and my favorite – listening to the TV attached to treadmills in  hotels.  Next time you check out a listening device, check to see if there is a headphone/neckloop jack.  You may be pleasantly surprised.

Leave a Reply

