• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 228 other followers

Benign Paroxymal Positional Vertigo (BPPV)

I recently experienced severe vertigo and diagnosed myself as having Benign Paraoxymal Positional Vertigo (BPPV) because my symptoms were just like my brother’s and that was his diagnosis.  Don’t worry!  I also went to a doctor and received a tentative (pending more testing) diagnosis of BPPV.  For you San Diego folks, I highly recommend Dr. Ian Purcell, an otoneurologist, (or his associates) at the Senta Medical Clinic at Alvarado Hospital.  He and Dr. Michael O’Leary were featured on The Doctor’s television show.

Dr. Purcell’s office has one of only 6 treatment chairs in the country.  Here I am all strapped in!  The chair is used for diagnosis and for treatment.  They rolled me this way and that and a camera in the goggles recorded my eye movements, looking for nystagmus.  Such fun!

BPPV Testing

What does this have to do with hearing loss?  Maybe nothing.  Most of the articles I read said there was no connection between hearing loss and BPPV but a few said it could be caused by Meniere’s Disease.  The symptoms and causes of dizziness in Meniere’s Disease are different than the vertigo caused by BPPV.  Vertigo caused by BPPV is “positional” and the treatment involves exercises such as the Epley Maneuver.   However, it’s all in the inner ear, so I thought this would be important information to share.  If you have been diagnosed with BPPV, I’d love to hear from you!

 

4 Responses

  1. So it was more than just one instance of dizziness! So glad to hear that physical therapy is used to treat and not drugs! Char

  2. Joe sometimes has this problem…we wish you didn’t have to have it.
    thank you for the interesting data.Information moves us forward.
    gerrie and joe

  3. GREAT ARTICLE. I WANT TO HEAR MORE

Leave a Reply

