• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 228 other followers

Yoga for the Hard-of-Hearing

4-corpse-pose-savasana

In practicing Yoga, Savasana (or Corpse Pose) is supposed to be a time to fully relax and rejuvenate.  For a hard-of-hearing person, it can be very stressful while straining to hear the instructor’s guided imagery.

Relax. Let go. Imagine a _______ moving up __________ and slowly __________. Breathe deeply. Release any tension from ______. Start at ____________ and imagine a warm __________ radiating……..

I’ve never asked a yoga teacher to wear an FM transmitter.  It would be too cumbersome and if the teacher is demonstrating postures, it would get in the way.  Also, I didn’t want to have a neckloop dangling from me while doing the Downward Facing Dog pose and other yoga poses.

HC-CONVERSORPRO

However, last week, I decided to give it a try using the smallest FM system I have, the Conversor Pro Personal FM System.  (I wrote about the Conversor Pro in my last blog post.)  I asked the teacher to just put it on at the end of class during Savasana as she would be sitting up and not moving.  I placed the receiver/neckloop around my neck and settled comfortably on my mat. Suddenly I heard the teacher’s voice, loud and clear, sent directly into my hearing aids!  My reaction was startling!  Tears began to flow from my eyes!!  I’m not a person who cries easily, so this really surprised me!  The joy of hearing so clearly was overwhelming!

The next class I attended was taught by a man who sat in a chair while directing the class.  I thought this would be a good opportunity to try out the system during the entire class, but since he played the guitar during part of the class, it would be impossible to wear the microphone around his neck.  I set the microphone/transmitter on a small table close by.  I wore my neckloop for the entire class without too much inconvenience.  Once again I was so moved by being able to hear clearly.  For once, I could do yoga with my eyes shut, rather than looking all around to see what we were supposed to be doing!  So nice!!

As effective as this solution was, it is NOT an ideal solution.  The ideal yoga solution would be completely wireless such as:
#1. Hearing loop installed in the yoga room.
Wireless microphone that could be placed near the teacher or worn in a body pack.
Hearing aid wearers all knowing to get a t-coil in their hearing aids!

#2. For those wearing hearing aids that have a wireless microphone available (Resound, Phonak, Oticon…) it would be simple to clip the microphone onto the teacher’s shirt.  At least one of these microphones sends sound directly into the hearing aids.  Others require the listener to wear a neckloop, FM boot, or other intermediary device.  More on wireless microphones in my next blog.  OM…….

omsymbolthumb6708295

One Response

  1. […] my  last blog post, I wrote about using an FM system in a yoga class.  Although it can be very effective in some […]

Leave a Reply

